Bento Baon: Watermelon Onigiri

Summer is upon us on this side of the world. Thus, I thought I’d feature a refreshing, warm-season fruit in my bento… in the form of an onigiri!I did a strawberry onigiri bento before, and that was  quite fun to make. Now I’m trying to think what other kinds of fruit I can turn model an onigiri after. For the watermelon onigiri in my bento this time, I used some afritada sauce, which is a tomato-based Filipino stew dish, to color the onigiri a shade of red. For the bottom part of the onigiri, I mixed in some green onions with the white rice. The other contents of my bento are some broccoli, hard-boiled egg, radishes, orange bell peppers, and ham. 

 

Leave a Reply

