Carrot Apple Bread

Good news: Netflix brought back The Great British Baking Show. Bad news: My mouth waters every time I watch it and it makes me want to bake all the things!

Now, I’m not a baker; not even an amateur one. The most success I’ve had in baking is trying my hand at quick breads, such as this banana bread that I have recently made.

To satisfy my baking needs, I made some carrot apple bread with cream cheese frosting. I suppose this is one way to up my fruits and vegetables intake. ūüėÄTo be frank I chose to make this type of quick bread since I had some carrots and apples that needed to be used. It turned out quite decently. The cream cheese frosting was an afterthought. I hadn’t thought to put any on the bread until after it was all done. And I’m glad I did.

Here’s how I did it, adapted from this recipe.

Ingredients:

1 large egg
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/3 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup cup Greek yogurt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour (all-purpose flour can be used entirely)
1/2  teaspoon baking powder
1/2  teaspoon baking soda
pinch salt
3/4 cup grated carrots (peeled)
1/2 cup grated apples (peeled; although I left some unpeeled parts of the apple)

Preheat the oven to 350¬įF. Grate your apples and carrots.Whisk together the egg, sugar, melted butter, Greek yogurt, vanilla extract, cinnamon, and nutmeg.Add in the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Stir with a spatula, and try not to overmix.¬† Fold in the grated carrots and apples.¬†The recipe didn’t call for chocolate chips, but I added some anyway ūüėÄSpray a 9×5 loaf pan with cooking spray and sprinkle some flour in it.¬†Put the batter in the pan and spread evenly with a spoon. This isn’t going to be a tall loaf since my pan is bigger and I only used a cup of flour – but that’s alright.¬†Bake for about 45-55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Mine cooked for exactly 45 minutes. Cover the pan loosely with a sheet of foil if the top and the sides are browning quicker than the rest of the bread.

Let the bread rest in the pan for about 15 minutes.Transfer the bread to wire rack and let it cool completely. As for the cream cheese frosting, I winged it a bit since I only needed a small amount to spread onto the top of the bread. I mixed together room temperature cream cheese, room temperature butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla.

Leave a Reply

