Bento Baon: Tricolor Bento with Crab Hotdog

I have been seeing a lot of tricolor (sanshoku) bento online, and I’ve always wanted to try my hand at it. Recently, I saw a post from Japanese Home Recipes about it, and it inspired me to make my own version.

To make our bento more of a kyaraben (or charaben) and extra kawaii, I made little, adorable crabs out of hotdogs from my favorite Filipino brand, Purefoods Tender Juicy Hotdog.img_20161206_203001

I also used some of the adorable food picks that I got. I need to use them more often for they definitely add a dose of cuteness!img_20161206_203052Instead of white rice, it’s a bed of riced cauliflower at the bottom of our lunch containers. There are also some celery underneath where the ham and cheese rolls and the hotdog crabs are resting.

I love the combination of the three colors in our bento: brown (ground beef), yellow (scrambled egg), and green (okra). The red from the hotdog and the pink and beige from the ham and cheese rolls add a rather nice contrast as well.

I would love to try other variations of a sanshoku bento. I’ll put my thinking cap on and try to come up with more ideas!

2 thoughts on “Bento Baon: Tricolor Bento with Crab Hotdog

Leave a Reply

