Chicken Afritada Omurice

Chicken afritada repurposed in omelette rice. A nice little Japanese + Filipino fusion. 🙂 I tried to make the omurice more kawaii, but I ended up with evil looking bunnies. lol.

img_20161012_190713

Omurice is a popular Japanese dish – it’s a savory chicken ketchup  fried rice wrapped in a thin sheet of omelette. On the other hand, chicken afritada is a tomato-based Filipino stew with potatoes, carrots, peas, and bell peppers. It seemed to me like a food pairing that will work beautifully, so I ventured on and made chicken afritada omurice. 🙂

I started by chopping up the chicken, potatoes, carrots, and bell peppers into little pieces.

img_20161012_181925

I then fried the afritada with some rice. I added more peas and frozen corn and seasoned it with salt, pepper, and added a bit more tomato ketchup and the afritada sauce.

img_20161012_185333

Next was the omelette sheet. I used two eggs and separated the white from one of the eggs. I then took the thin omelette out of the pan and cut out little bunny faces using my bunny deco cutter.

img_20161012_183250

I put the omelette back onto the pan and distributed the egg whites into the holes.

img_20161012_183719

I transferred the chicken afritada fried rice onto a plate, covered it with the omelette sheet, and finished the bunny faces with cut-out nori and ham. As you can see, I messed up one of the bunny faces, but that’s OK! It was delicious anyhow. 🙂 This was our dinner a few nights ago.

img_20161012_190858

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken Afritada Omurice

Leave a Reply

