Bento Baon: Flower Onigiri

I visited my local Asian grocery store over the weekend to get my bimonthly items and supplies from the motherland, and I found a couple of new rice molds at the kawaii shop located within the same strip mall. Needless to say, I made sure to purchase them, prompting me to come up with Monday’s bento:img_20161009_212710

I would say this bento is more of a decoben instead of a kyaraben, since there’s not really any characters in the bento box; it’s just a more decorative look to look like a bed of flowers.

I can’t wait to use the other rice mold I got, which is a bear-shaped mold, along with some deco cutters.

img_20161009_204311

I’m also pretty happy with how the flower omelette turned out! I’ve been doing it wrong as I wasn’t cutting the omelette strips thin enough before rolling it. But I finally got it to an acceptable width and height, and to me it looked perfect. 🙂

I also made a quick Korean-style spinach salad. I blanched the spinach, squeezed out the excess water, then seasoned it with sesame oil, garlic salt, pepper, soy sauce, and red pepper flakes. I did forget the sesame seeds though; I’m going to have to add those in.

img_20161009_212512

I packed three rice balls each for me and Joel. I weighed the onigiri as I was molding them and each piece came up to about 35 grams, which is good for portion control and calorie counting. Not pictured are our separate lunch containers which contained additional baby corn and egg (to make the meals more substantial).

 

Leave a Reply

