Inarizushi

I first learned about inarizushi from the cooking anime Gourmet Girl Graffiti (Koufuku Graffiti). It was the featured food in their very first episode, so from the get-go I was certainly hooked. I wasn’t a huge fan of the suggestive sensual theme throughout the show, but that’s for a whole ‘nother topic.

Cooking or food-related anime has always been a penchant of mine.
inarizushiEver since then it had been on my mind to try to recreate it. However, since it was a completely foreign dish to me (and due to my indolence), I didn’t really actively try to make it.

Inarizushi are abura age (fried tofu skins) stuffed with sushi rice. I finally found the canned inari at the Asian store, so I went on ahead and made them over the three-day weekend.

img_20160905_122652

img_20160905_134516

img_20160905_122715 img_20160905_130400

I got the canned inari since I’m an inarizushi amateur. However, I would love to make my own especially after seeing Cooking with Dog’s video on how to make it.

Anyway, onto my inarizushi attempt:

I know you can add an assortment of toppings into the inarizushi, but I opted to stick to the basics.

And the basics include sushi rice, some black sesame seeds, and the inari.

I cooked some rice (used sushi rice or short-grain) and seasoned it with rice vinegar. I let it cool before stuffing in into the inari.

img_20160905_130235Taking the tofu skins out of the can proved to be quite difficult. I had to be really careful since the skins are thin, and I didn’t want it to tear as I take it out. I also had to gently open the tofu pockets. I then stuffed the little pouches with rice and sprinkled some black sesame seeds on top.img_20160905_132904 img_20160905_133110

Joel and I ate it for lunch on our day off along with some nori tamagoyaki. It was delicious! The canned inari may have been a little too sweet for my liking, but the vinegar in the rice pairs well with each bite.

img_20160905_133527

img_20160905_133436

One thought on “Inarizushi

Leave a Reply

