Bento Baon: A Wild Chicken Appears

I’m not sure if this would qualify as a kyaraben (or charaben or decoben); I know how elaborate and meticulously designed those bento boxes can get. There is, however, an adorable little chick in my bento lunch, and he’s quite a character. Heh, get it? 🙂
IMG_20160823_224237

I follow a lot of awesome bento makers on Instagram, and I draw my inspiration from them. I love scrolling through the #bento and #obento hashtag feeds and seeing their amazing creations.

One of the things I’ve tried my hand at was making a cute little chicken hard-boiled egg to put in my bento. One was a decent attempt, the other was quite horrendous lol. Both times I did enjoy making it, so I thought I’d incorporate it again into our lunches since I had an extra hard-boiled egg.

IMG_20160823_224105Aside from the chicken embutido, I made a quick bean sprout stir-fry and chopped up some red bell peppers to put on top of it. There’s also some sweet corn and furikake sprinkled on the rice. Yum! Can’t wait for lunch.

IMG_20160823_224440

EDIT: Genie from Bunny Eats Design has told me about the monthly blogging event Our Growing Edge, a way to share with and inspire other food bloggers. This month’s theme is work day eating, and I’m excited to add my work lunch to the mix! Thanks for letting me know about this awesome link up party, Genie! 🙂


our-growing-edge-badge

This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by Cheryl at Businesschic

2 thoughts on “Bento Baon: A Wild Chicken Appears

  1. Love the chickens! I love boiled eggs too. The chickens don’t use up much of the egg, did you consider using more of the egg for each chicken?

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a monthly blog link up just for new food adventures. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences with other foodies. This month’s theme is WORK DAY EATING which includes any recipe or food experience suitable for the work day such as lunch, snacks or easy meals.

    More info including how to submit your link here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    1. Thanks Genie! I edited the post to include the Our Growing Edge info :).

      I only had one extra hard-boiled egg to put in my and my husband’s work lunches. Usually, we’d get one egg each.

Leave a Reply

