Bento Baon: I Made Carrot Flowers

I found myself at the end of my work and run yesterday with time to make these bento carrot flowers. And I’m quite pleased with how they turned out!

IMG_20160627_222025

They’re not the absolute prettiest, but I really enjoyed making them. I simply cut out an upside-down “V” shape around the carrot using my knife. The petals aren’t proportioned, but they will do. 🙂 Now I have a bunch of these carrot flowers chilling in the fridge – all ready for when I try to spruce up my bento.

Here’s the rest of the contents of my lunch:

  • Steamed broccoli
  • Rice sprinkled with corn kernels and red bell peppers
  • Bean sprout and tofu stir-fry
  • Tamagoyaki – with the carrot scraps from my carrot flowers (I’m against wasting food!)

IMG_20160627_222046

I also tried making an egg flower – which is a thin omelette that you fold in half, cut along the fold, and roll so it looks like a flower. Mine didn’t turn out that like how it should be, but no matter, I’ll do better next time. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

