Re-reading Harry Potter

Whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home. – J.K. Rowling

Re-reading Harry Potter as an adult is incredibly fascinating.

I’m not certain how or when the idea of re-reading the series came within my subconscious, but I’m acting upon it now. I will be methodically (perhaps a bit of a stretch) re-reading the Harry Potter series and chronicling it here, chapter by chapter.

I had to leave my Harry Potter books in the Philippines when I moved to the US, but my husband got me the full set for my birthday a year ago.

I realize that re-reading the entire series in order is a major undertaking, but this is something I really would like to accomplish.

I was lucky enough to grow up with Harry. I started reading the books when I was 11. I never noticed or appreciated how much the characters grow and how the plot matured and darkened over the years until I re-read them as an adult. However, I did not re-read the books in order. And other times, I only re-read my favorite chapters. While this fact may have kept me from ever “outgrowing” the novels the way I did other series, my younger self couldn’t appreciate it because I was growing up at a similar pace.

You also notice a lot more as a mature reader. A lot of the allusions to classical literature, deep symbolism, and just damn good writing was lost on 11-year-old me.

I can’t wait to get started. It’s going to be a great experience. I know it.

Leave a Reply

