Bento Baon: Back at It Again!

After a short hiatus, I’m back at preparing bento lunches! And it feels so good lol.

IMG_20160621_194610

It’s currently a busy time at work for me; our annual conference is coming up and I am part of the planning committee. The event is going to be out of town this year, so that affects the logistics and groundwork quite excessively. I, along with co-workers, visited the conference site last week and stayed there for a couple of days, so that was part of the reason why I wasn’t able to prepare bento lunches.

Anyway, I’m back in the swing of things! 🙂 I don’t mean to sound like a nut lol, but honestly, this hobby (and cooking too!) keeps me sane! It definitely takes my mind off the petty and the trivial, and it puts things into perspective. 🙂 So yeah, I recommend you get a hobby too so you don’t dwell too much on the negative.

For our lunches, I made it rather simple with tuna mayo onigiri and spinach tamagoyaki.

Instead of chopping up the spinach, I wilted it a bit and rolled it with the tamagoyaki in the pan. I saw this technique on Cooking With Dog. I think it looks rather nice. 🙂

IMG_20160621_194709

I made the tuna salad with minced carrots and onions beforehand, so I thought of incorporating it into the onigiri. I mixed in some salmon furikake into the rice because I just love that stuff.

IMG_20160621_194655

I didn’t make tuna mayo onigiri for my bento, so I just sprinkled some furikake into my rice.

IMG_20160621_194637

I also put some grapes, chocolate-covered pretzels, and almonds into my bento box for dessert. 🙂

IMG_20160621_194632 (1)

 

 

Leave a Reply

