Baked Sweet and Spicy Chicken Drumettes

Chicken drumettes are like mini chicken drumsticks, hence the name. They are a portion of the wing that is attached to the main body of the chicken.

They’re rather the perfect size for bento packing so I decided to pick up a package at my last trip to the grocery store.

Now the conundrum was how to cook them.  There’s tons of recipes out there, but I decided to stick to the delicious Asian flavors I’m familiar with. So I came up with sweet and spicy chicken drumettes.

IMG_20160605_123410

I must have been looking at four different recipes online simultaneously, including my own (not my own, per se, but the dish I previously madeSticky Garlic Chicken Bites, but I was modifying everything as I go.

I ended up using the same ingredients for the garlic chicken bites and adding some brown sugar and banana ketchup, since I’m craving that Filipino sweet barbecue taste.

Here’s how I did it.

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs chicken drumettes
  • Salt and pepper

Sauce ingredients:

  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp ginger, minced
  • 5 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp Hoisin sauce
  • 2 tbsp Mirin
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 tbsp banana ketchup
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp Sriracha
  • Salt and pepper
  • Green onions
  • Sesame seeds
  1. Preheat oven to 450°F/230°C. Lightly grease baking rack and put it over a baking sheet lined with foil.
  2. Pat chicken dry with paper towel. Season with salt and pepper.

IMG_20160605_113039

3. Combine the sauce ingredients thoroughly in a bowl. Drizzle half the sauce over the chicken and toss to combine. Set the remaining sauce aside.

IMG_20160605_113740

4. Pop the chicken in the oven for 20 minutes.

 

IMG_20160605_1143285. Turn the drumettes over and brush the remaining sauce on the chicken pieces. Put them back in the oven for another 15 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.

IMG_20160605_120252

6. It’s done! Sprinkle some sesame seeds.

IMG_20160605_122853

7. Garnish with green onions and more sesame seeds if desired.

IMG_20160605_123259

IMG_20160605_123330

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Baked Sweet and Spicy Chicken Drumettes

Leave a Reply

