Oyakodon

Nothing like a good, delicious rice bowl meal to make everything better.

I adapted a recipe for Oyakodon (chicken and egg bowl) from Japanesecooking101.com. I would say it’s a loose adaptation for several reasons: a) I didn’t follow the measurements of the ingredients; b) I didn’t have Sake; and c) I used fish sauce instead of dashi. I had a dashi packet but the label said it was past its Best Before Date, so I decided to just toss it out. =/

Despite the power surge breaking our TV yesterday, Joel and I had to regroup  and collect ourselves. We were starving after our run, so I made this quick dinner and we sat down and tried to enjoy it.

Fortunately, my first attempt at Oyakodon was a success. Despite missing some of the ingredients, it still came out quite tasty. I’m pretty sure I’ve ordered something like this before and I think it’s not too far off from the orginal flavors from what I can remember.
IMG_20160531_175546 (1)

Rice ✓. Chicken ✓. Egg ✓.  Sweet and salty sauce ✓. This dish has ‘comfort food’ written all over it. I added more chopped up green onions in our bowls because we just love that stuff.

IMG_20160531_175539

It definitely did make us feel better after eating dinner.

Now, we do have to figure out if the TV is fixable or if we’ll need to purchase a new one. Oh well such is life. At least Joel and I still get to share meals together. That’s what’s more important.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Oyakodon

Leave a Reply

