Sunday Cooking

It’s not necessarily “meal prepping,” but I did make three dishes today for us to have for this week:

  • Ginisang Munggo
  • Chopsuey
  • Mushroom Adobo

They’re mainly sides that can be made into “full” meals if I add some eggs or something. I’ll also have to remember that I have some of the frozen rellenong bangus I got from the Asian store that I’ll need to incorporate into our meals at some point this week.

Ginisang Munggo (Sauteed Mung Beans)

IMG_20160522_111631

I’ve been craving this dish for the past few days. I got the munggo at the Asian store a few weeks ago, and I almost forgot that I had it. It’s my first time to make this dish even though it’s been one of my all-time favorite Filipino foods. Back in the Philippines, I usually would just get it at a nearby carinderia. Munggo is best eaten with some fried galunggong. Maybe next time I’ll go to the Asian store I’ll pick up some galunggong so I’ll have that delicious combo; I didn’t use all the munggo in the bag, so I still have some left. 🙂

Mushroom Adobo

IMG_20160522_145701

So I had this pack of mushrooms that had been chilling in the fridge that I needed to cook already. I was debating on how to prepare it lol, but in the end I chose to cook it Adobo style. It turned out great. 🙂 Can’t wait to have this with a hard-boiled egg over rice – it’s going to be delicious.

Chopsuey

IMG_20160522_140153

I’ve never been a picky kid when it comes to eating my vegetables. I remember being young and getting really excited ordering chopsuey at Max’s. This dish has all my favorite veggies in it: cauliflower, broccoli, red bell pepper, carrots. Using Mama Sita’s chopsuey mix makes this dish tastes like how I remember Max’s chopsuey is, so that makes me really happy and nostalgic. The only thing missing is some quail eggs, but I can serve this with some hard-boiled eggs instead.

3 thoughts on “Sunday Cooking

Leave a Reply

