Weekend Recap Ft. a List

1. I’d like to start this post by stating that I tried baking a quick bread again over the weekend, but the results were abysmal.

IMG_20151108_084400

Now that that’s out of the way, here’s a photo proof of the saddest loaf in the history of Earth:

IMG_20151108_094326

I’m almost embarrassed to put the picture up. Almost. But hey, Albert Einstein said “Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.” So hah! There you go. Thanks, Einstein. The bread wasn’t totally inedible, but it wasn’t what I was expecting. Baking might come easily for some but certainly not to me. I get impatient in the kitchen, and when I’m cooking, I prefer not stopping and being anal about ingredients and measurements and cooking instructions –  which is the whole point of baking; Nonetheless, I’d like to be pretty okay at it. Like all I want is to whip up some pretty legit, tender, delicious loaf – is that too much to ask? Nah, I’ll get it. Soon. I hope.

2. Joel and I watched the latest James Bond movie in theaters on Saturday night. It was actually quite entertaining. It’s got everything you’d want to see in a spy movie. I haven’t really been following Daniel Craig as the new James Bond. I grew up with Piece Brosnan as the James Bond, and yes, he was fine. But holy hell, Daniel Craig. All of a sudden I’m seeing him in a whole new light haha.

Before going to the movies, we went to P. Terry’s for dinner. P. Terry’s is our favorite burger place. And earlier that day we went to the grocery store to pick up some stuff. I love taking trips to grocery store with Joel, so yeah it was pretty much a perfect Saturday – aside from the fact that I managed to produce the saddest loaf ever.

3. While at the movies, we saw the preview for Mockingjay 2. It’ll be out later this month, and I’m excited to see it. I’ve read all the books ages ago (when I was still in the Philippines), and it’s a pretty solid series. We haven’t seen Mockingjay 1, so last night that was our movie pick. There wasn’t really too much action (nor content) in Mockingjay 1, which was pretty understandable since it’s based off the first half of one book. That movie might be the darkest and the most complex in the franchise by far. Not the strongest, but it still managed to successfully go further from the young adult genre to the dark political and military thriller that it has become.

To get more hyped for the movie, here’s a hilarious bad lip reading of The Hunger Games that I’ve stumbled upon:

IMG_20151108_140124

4. We’ve been taking Mugen to the dog park every Sunday. The temperatures have gotten nice for the past couple of weeks (when it’s not been pouring rain), so I’m sure he appreciates being out at the park when it’s not scorching hot outside. Mugen loves to swim, and the only dog park we found that has a pool is a 30-minute drive from our place. No matter, Joel and I love seeing him enjoying himself. We’ve also promised to do this every weekend since we’ll be leaving him in December when we fly to the Philippines. =/

5. 26 more days until we fly to the Philippines! I’m getting more and more excited, but I’m not too fond of the idea of leaving Mugen. My mother and have finalized a trip to the Ilocos region, and I cannot wait to explore it; I’ve never been to that part of the country.

As for a fitness update, I’m two pounds shy from my target weight (that I set before I leave for the Philippines) since I started getting serious about running five times a week and counting my calories. That is quite an accomplishment, and I’m pretty proud of myself :). Like I said, shedding the pounds wasn’t really my sole mission when I embarked on this fitness journey, but it’s certainly a welcome benefit. I’ve already come to terms with the fact that I might gain the weight back (hopefully not all of it) when I go on holiday next  month. And that’s OK. I deserve this vacation and I’m not going to stress about my food intake!

One thought on “Weekend Recap Ft. a List

Leave a Reply

