Our weight insecurities stem from one another

So I don’t update my blog for months on end and now I decide to write two posts back to back? Yeah, it’s happening. I was going to write this as a continuation to my earlier post, but I felt this topic has a distinct and separate voice that warranted a post all on its own. Plus it’s my blog and I do what I want lol.

I want to address another issue that comes with making healthier choices for yourself. I can’t say I’ve experienced this myself per se (maybe I have, lol), but it’s definitely out there, and it’s prevalent – not to mention frustratingly and laughably annoying.

People are constantly judged for “going on a diet” and/or for choosing the types of food they consume. Despite the positive changes they try to reinforce within themselves, a subtle contempt and disdain from others always sneak in.

When I’d skip on dessert or a bag of chips or limit how much I ate, people would roll their eyes and seem personally offended that I didn’t want to eat like a horse. Inside I’m just like:

I’ll just have to say this:

Our weight insecurities stem from one another: society, media, advertising – it’s all one judgmental conglomerate. Those who make shitty comments (openly or secretly) about a person’s eating choices are part of the – if not the whole – reason we have a complicated relationship with food.

Ultimately, the opinion/s that should matter to you should come from those who are perfectly aware of your nutritional habits and know why you make the choices you make. All others be damned.

Leave a Reply

