My Attempt at Tamagoyaki

I love eggs. Scrambled, sunny side up, straight up hard boiled with a dash of salt. So when I came across the Japanese way of making eggs called tamagoyaki, I immediately pinned that shit and saved it for when I have an actual tamagoyaki pan.

I, unfortunately, don’t have such a pan. What I do have is a square cast iron skillet (which I really love because omgsocute).

Now the challenge was since my skillet is a tiny 5 inches, I wasn’t sure if I was going to make enough rolls on it – since tamagoyaki is essentially made by rolling together several thin layers of cooked eggs.

I thought Sunday morning would be a perfect opportunity to make tamagoyaki. And since I have all ingredients in my pantry. I went ahead and referred to my pin from JapaneseCooking101 and started cooking and rolling. 🙂

tamagoyaki ingredients

Procedures:

Heat the pan over medium heat and coat it with a tablespoon of oil. Mix the eggs, mirin, soy sauce, sugar, and salt in a bowl. Make sure that the pan is hot enough so the eggs don’t stick. Pour a thin layer of egg mixture in the pan – tilt to cover the entire pan. After the bottom of the egg has set but is still soft on top, start rolling into a log shape from one side to the other. Move the rolled omelette to the side where you started to roll. Pour the egg mixture to cover the bottom of the pan again. When the new egg layer has set and is still soft on top, start rolling from one side to the other. Continue rolling until you use up all the egg mixture.Remove from pan and slice the omelette into 1 cm pieces.

IMG_20150111_114632

Not bad for a first attempt. I will definitely cook this when I make onigiri next.

Leave a Reply

