I Finally Watched Donnie Darko

Donnie Darko (2001). A teenage boy with schizophrenia sees a rabbit named Frank that tells him to do things, but he doesn’t know why.

I’ve been wanting to watch this movie for the longest time. I first saw that it was on Netflix a while back, but when I checked recently, it was already taken off; Joel and I resorted to torrenting it.

It’s kind of a like a “piece-together-everything-after-watching” movie. Quite in the same vein as Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Truman Show, Inception – those kind of stuff – which I find really interesting.

Not to mention, it dealt with alternate universes and time travelling and wormholes and the idea of the 4th dimension, and stuff – these topics I always find myself drawn to.

Anyway, Donnie Darko. It has a really large cult following. I’ve seen gifs, quotes, and stills of it being posted on Tumblr and Reddit.

I liked the movie, but honestly, I’m a little unsure if I got it all. I’ve read that other people have seen it more than a few times, and they still don’t fully understand it. Some think that it’s incredibly overrated and not nearly as smart as it’s hyped to be.

But it’s still worth a watch if you haven’t seen it.

The thing about Donnie Darko is that it stands as a good viewing experience even if the viewer doesn’t fully get the intricacies of the science fiction plot. There are genuinely funny scenes, the characters are interesting and have interesting interactions, and it’s generally put together really well, so you can watch it without getting it, and still enjoy it. And even without the supplementary materials, the viewer still gets a vague sense of what’s going on. Some force is pulling Donnie along a mysterious path, and he has to deal with that, as do the characters around him. Engaging in the other media to fully understand the science-fiction/fantasy logic of the movie is less of a necessity of enjoying the movie, and more of a rite of passage for serious fans of the movie.

One thought on “I Finally Watched Donnie Darko

Leave a Reply

