How To Get a Perfect Nap

I don’t know about you, but sometimes when I nap, it’s usually one of two things: 1) I feel fresh, relaxed, and rejuvenated; or 2) I wake up groggy and crabby as hell and I usually unleash my wrath on the first living creature I see (which is usually my poor husband).

Recently, I have read an article called “The Perfect Nap: Sleeping is a Mix of Art and Science.”

“For a quick boost of alertness, experts say a 10-to-20-minute power nap is adequate for getting back to work in a pinch.”

Here is my problem though: sometimes, I plan to schedule my nap at a certain time, and I never fall asleep right away.  How am I supposed to keep track of the time I actually slept while sleeping?

I know there are a few apps to help with that dilemma ( I haven’t actually given them a try). My trick is to try and estimate how fast I will fall asleep, based on how much it feels like I’m already dozing off. Then I set my alarm for naptime+fallasleeptime. Sometimes it results in the “oh come on, fall asleep!” problem, but usually it works well. Generally it’s a total of 35 minutes: 15 to fall asleep, 20 of good solid nap.

scenery.cultural-china.com

 

Leave a Reply

