Longsilog Onigirazu

My venture into transforming the Filipino silog meals into the Japanese onigirazu has taken a bit of a lull. So far I have made spamsilog onigirazu and tapsilog onigirazu; this time, it’s my favorite sweet and garlicky Filipino sausage’s turn: the longanisa.

Presenting, the longsilog onigirazu!I used skinless longganisa that I got from the Asian store. I believe the brand was Magnolia (which is a Filipino brand). I liked it.

As you know, you can use pretty much whatever fillings you want to make an onigirazu. To make this longsilog onigirazu, you will need some sushi rice, pan fried longganisa, fried egg, and a sheet of nori. Here’s how I did it:

  1. Lay a piece of cling film on a flat surface. Place a sheet of nori (shiny side down) on top of it.
  2. Spread a thin layer of rice in the center of the nori.  
  3. Put the fillings one by one, laying them evenly. I decided to put in some lettuce too. 
  4. Spread another thin layer of rice on top.
  5. Pull the edges of the nori towards the center using the plastic wrap, pressing the nori firmly onto the rice. Peel back the plastic wrap. Seal the onigirazu with the cling wrap, seal side down. Press it down gently so the rice holds its shape. Let it sit for a few minutes.
  6. Wet your knife and slice the onigirazu in half. Make sure to remember which side you want to cut in half so all the fillings will be seen from a cross-section view.

Leave a comment